You gotta start somewhere…

“This is Lupie.”

That’s how I’ve been introduced by some friends for the past 7 years.  I don’t take offense cause everyone should be able to laugh at themselves.  It’s my way of making light of the fact that I have Lupus.  And maybe that’s why I’ve never really taken my illness seriously, because for 7 years I’ve made a joke out of it. But, now I’m just sick of being sick.  I’m finally pursuing my dream of being a television sports reporter but the physicality of the job has made me wonder if I really can do this.  I’ve wanted nothing more for my entire life.  It took a lot of time, tuition money, rejections and setbacks but I’m here.  My problem is I never expected to have to battle an illness while living my dream (or even to be sick at the age of 24).

I’ve been thinking of blogging for a long time.  I’ve been thinking about a lot of things actually.  But, this is my newest way to keep tabs on myself; to find the right balance of work, fun and health; to share what works and what doesn’t work for me; and hopefully you’ll share what works and doesn’t work for you.

Leave a Reply

