Friday Five

Happy Friday!  I can’t tell you how happy I am that it’s Friday.  This week’s Friday Five is five facts about my journey with Lupus.  Here ya go:

1) My symptoms started in February 2003 at the age of 17 and I was diagnosed in June of 03.  I am lucky that it only took five months to diagnose, and I think a large part of that was my mother’s diagnosis of Bechets two years earlier.

2) Even though we had the internet back then I can’t remember really doing my own research once I was diagnosed.   I do remember feeling relief that “oh it’s not my fault I’ve been sick” and left it at that.

3) I started to lose kidney function in the summer of 2005.  They shut down later that winter.

4) My most common symptoms: joint pain, extreme fatigue.  Which are also the hardest to explain to people when you’re only 24.

5) I’ve been lucky since I got my kidneys under control.  No extreme flare ups, just bumps in the road here and there.  And I plan to keep it that way 🙂

Leave a Reply

