Tricked

I’m sitting in the laundromat waiting for my clothes to finish drying.  The combination of the warm weather and the dryers running made me want a refreshing beverage.  The Pepsi vending machine didn’t offer water so I bought the next best thing:

Looks innocent enough right?

So I’m practically done drinking the bottle (it’s pretty good and hits the spot) before I turn it around to read the ingredients label.

Look Closely, 2nd ingredient listed

The first ingredient: Water.  Ok well that’s good.  The second ingredient: High Fructose Corn Syrup.  The actual Tea is the fourth ingredient listed, which in my mind means that there is more damaging High Fructose Corn Syrup in this than actual Tea!  It’s almost as if that little stamp on the front that advertises the great antioxidants is cancelled out by the HFCS.

I’ve been trying to be good about eating less processed foods and eating clean.  I have been drinking my green monsters every day and cutting back on the white flour and white sugar and definitely trying to eliminate HFCS from my diet.  I’m not going crazy, I did eat two fudge pops yesterday, but I am trying to eat healthy in an attempt to rid some of my lupus symptoms naturally.  So thinking that I am choosing a healthy drink option but then to find out it’s not that much better than drinking a soda really irks me.  I feel tricked by Lipton!

This makes me believe more than ever that I should really make my own everything. Food, tea, what have you.  That way I know exactly what’s in it.

Leave a Reply

