I’m Back!

Hey all! I know it’s been two years. I know no one is reading anymore. What can I say, life took a turn. A few turns really.

In July 2010 I took a new job south of the Mason Dixon line as a sports reporter for a college and high school football obsessed station. I was carrying a 40 pound camera on my shoulder every day, working crazy hours, crazy road trips around SEC country. I loved the rush and excitement of football season but knew my body couldn’t hold out forever. I was right.

Flash forward to February of this year. I had my first weekend off in months and the second I stopped going-going-going, the second it all caught up with me. I had a flare. Luckily it was during the slowest sports month of the year but I knew I couldn’t be the cameraman, reporter, editor, driver, live-shot operator by myself. Unfortunately, reporting-only jobs are hard to come by these days and I couldn’t find another one. So it was time for a change. I left the world of sports reporting and moved to the big city (Atlanta) to take a job at a marketing company.

It’s hard to admit, but I’m bummed I’m not a sports reporter anymore. I can’t watch ESPN or FoxSports or any other sports network anymore because I do get a tinge of jealousy. My entire life I wanted to be a sports reporter and I feel slightly lost career wise. Don’t get me wrong, I love my new job and the people I work with. They have made the transition easier for sure. But, it’s a huge transition.

I know in the long run the career change is better for my health and happiness. I’m finally putting myself first, taking the cues my body gives me, and decreasing my stress. Already it’s working. My rheumatologist said my ANA is no longer positive, my C3 and C4 are at normal levels, my kidney function is great for someone who had nephritis just a few years ago, I’m sleeping better, I don’t hurt as often, I’m working out regularly again. I’m the healthiest I’ve been since my diagnosis almost a decade ago.

And I have to remind myself of that every day. Days where I’m not sure, I have to remember that I feel better. It’s funny, this blog is “Working Lupie,” but for the first time in my life I realize, work isn’t everything.

One thought on “I’m Back!

  1. Pingback: Ways to be happier at work | WorkingLupie

Leave a Reply

