Planes, trains and automobiles

In both the sports reporter and marketing worlds I’ve done my fair share of business travel. Some trips have been better than others (don’t even get me started on the time the tv station sent me to a bowl game expecting me to sleep on the floor). But, there’s a way to travel for business avoiding a flare, but still getting your job done. Here are some of my best tips:

1) Pack like a pro

Type A personality here. I not only make a list of what I need to bring but pack efficiently. You don’t need a fancy Louis Vuitton suitcase to pack correctly. I know everyone has their own way but this web app made my life better! Not only does a little organization make my trips less stressful but also taught me that my roller suitcase is a lifesaver.

2) On the room service menu – seasonal vegetables.

Sometimes you’re in a hotel with nothing around but fast food. Instead try room service. It doesn’t have to be expensive. Most hotel restaurants and room service menus list some kind of vegetable as a side and most of the time  those “side” items are full plates or bowls of fresh grilled/steamed veggies, for the same cost as a Big Mac. Just because you’re on the road doesn’t mean you have to give up eating healthy.

Soup and Veggies for under $10 via room service

3) Bring your own pillow

Or whatever else helps you sleep. I love a big hotel bed, but I know many others don’t. So pack your own blanket, or pillow, or whatever you can to replicate your best sleep.

4) Take a half day

Most of my trips involve looooonnnggg days. Like 15+ hours of being on my feet. Last week I was on the golf course at 6:30am, worked until I had to leave for the airport at 8pm for a 10pm flight and didn’t get home until 2am. The next day = half day. Work it out with your boss if you can but even if you can’t, it may be worth it to take some unpaid time. In the long run a few hours of extra sleep is better than missing a few days later when the lupus flares up.

A lovely but long day

What tips do you have for business travel with a chronic illness?

2 thoughts on “Planes, trains and automobiles

  1. WL: My advice for business travel with lupus: Good shoes, pace yourself and allow down time, take a luxurious tub bath, take time to recoup after the trip. Before returning to my rigorous office responsibilities, I almost always allow one vacation day at home to transition and rest.

    I, too prefer room service meals in many hotels. Just this week I was in a location where everything was “weird” flavors and unusual foods, or foods I have allergies to. I desperation for plain food I ordered from the room service menu. My all-time favorite room service foods: BLT sandwich, simple hamburger, chicken Cesar salad, meatloaf and garlic mashed potatoes, or plain old-fashioned toasted cheese sandwich or ham and Swiss on rye. LA

Leave a Reply

