Why I write for my health

Today is Day 1 of the National Health Blog Post Month (#NHBPM). Wego Health informed me of the rules: blog every day about health, only two free days to not post. Each day as one or two dedicated topics along with a list of freebie topics to chose from. So 30 days of blogging??? That’s more than I’ve ever done before but since this is a blog about my health I thought why not?

Today’s topic: Why I write for my health

Honestly I started blogging because a friend of mine with Cystic Fibrosis did. I saw the support Katharine was getting from the online community and thought I could use some too. I stopped bloggin when I moved down South and my professional life took over. Now I’m trying to find a balance in my life and a balance to my place in the online health community: it’s not about the support I get, but instead support I give.

While this blog is about me and my experiences, it is about using those experiences to help others. See I’m the kind of girl who when I find something great I want to shout it from the rooftops and tell everyone I know. I’ve always been that way, probably why I was drawn to journalism telling the TV audiences what I learned that day. When I find a medicine that works for me, I’m going to share; when I find that certain foods make my lupus better or worse, I’m going to share; when I have some tips and tricks to get through a long work day, I’m going to share. I can’t share in Lupus Now magazine allll the time (thank you LFA for featuring me multiple times) so instead I have my own platform where I can share all I want.

Now, there are some days where it will be about me; I’ll need a quick comment of support during a rough time; I’ll share my personal life outside of lupus; I’ll need advice. That’s why we have these online communities to help each other.

Thank you for reading, thank you for commenting/retweeting, and get ready for 30 straight days of posts!

 

One thought on “Why I write for my health

  1. I did a WEGO 30-day challenge in April this year, followed by daily posting about lupus in May. It was surprising to me how much the prompts helped me branch out into new and fresh posts. I look forward to following your November blogging adventure.

Leave a Reply

