Day 9 – Pretty Care Packages

Today is day 9 of National Health Blog Month from Wego Health. Today’s topic: Community Care Package. Create the perfect care package for fellow patients

I love gift baskets and care packages. Nothing like a sweet surprise to know someone is thinking about you. I’ve been pinning care package ideas like crazy and I love the idea of sending my friends a few little somethings to let them know I’m thinking about them.

Recently, some friends from the south have been having a hard time adjusting to life in Salt Lake City. And so I created the Southern Care Package.

Contents:


Fancy pants Grits and biscuit mix

Fresh picked cotton (yes I seriously picked this from the side of the road in Georgia)

Moonshine jelly (since I can’t ship actual moonshine)

Koozies from State Traditions (I love this website)

                       Tennessee postcards from Meghan McCrary on Etsy  (seriously she is so sweet and easy to work with and her designs are so cute)

We added some sweet tea and a few funny photos of Sean and I, then capped it off with a letter in our thickest southern accent.

My presentation was not as pretty as I would have liked. Half of it was covered in packing paper and bubble wrap to protect the contents on the long journey to Utah. But if I was simply dropping off a care package it’d look much prettier. Like this:

There are plenty of ideas for care packages for Lupus patients. But like lupus itself, no two patients are alike. It’s best to know the little things that help ease their symptoms and respect any food allergies. But a care package is all about brightening someone’s spirit. Here are some ideas:

A care package full of your patient’s favorite snacks. Most of the time when I’m not feeling well the last thing I want to do is cook. Having yummy, easy to grab snacks on hand helps ensure I actually eat.

How about a care package that keeps on giving? A subscription to Birchbox helps your patient try out some new beauty products. When I’m sick I don’t want to look in the mirror and it takes a lot of work to make me look presentable, but a few new beauty products might help.

If your patient doesn’t like beauty products Lost Crates is a similar service that delivers stationary goods monthly. This also ensures that they can thank you with a pretty card from their new stationary set.

As you can probably tell from my “southern” care package above, I love themed care packages, like this pink & peach or the lemon one. Themes help with the pretty presentation.

No need to spend a fortune (those Priority Mail Flat Rate boxes are great). The main point is that you’re thinking about your lupus patient (or anyone for that matter). The sweetest notes and texts from my friends are always unexpected and always make my day. It’s the thought that counts.

Leave a Reply

